John T. Dunlop Scholar Award

DEADLINE: October 1--Extended to October 15

The LERA Awards Committee has issued a call for nominations for LERA awards to recognize outstanding academic contributions to research by recent entrants to the field. At least one award will recognize the research contribution of an academic for the best contribution to international and/or comparative labor and employment research. A second academic award will recognize the best contribution to research that addresses an industrial relations/employment problem of national significance.

Letters of nomination accompanied by vitas or substantial accounts of the accomplishments of the nominees should to be sent to the attention of Paula Wells in the LERA office no later than October 15, 2010. Awardees will be recognized at the LERA 63rd Annual Meeting in Denver, CO, January 7-9, 2011.

Past winners:


Jon Guryan, University of Chicago
Ian Greer,
Leeds University (not pictured)

Alexandre Mas, University of California Berkeley
Nicholas Bloom,
Stanford University
Adriana Kugler, University of Houston
David S. Lee,
Princeton University

Marianne Bertrand, University of Chicago
Marianne Bertrand is the Fred G. Steingraber/A. T. Kearney Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. Her primary research interests are in Labor Economics, Development Economics, Behavioral Economics and Corporate Finance.

  Armin Falk, IZA
David H. Autor , Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Rafael Gomez , London School of Economics
Kevin Hallock, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  Jody Hoffer Gittell, Brandeis University

Alexander Colvin

Alex Colvin is the undergraduate officer of the Department of Labor Studies and Industrial Relations at Penn State University. His research interests include: labor and employment law, dispute resolution, collective bargaining, human resource management.


John Logan

John Logan is a lecturer at the London School of Economics, Industrial Relations Department, and is working on Post Doctoral research at the University of California-Los Angeles.

  Frits Pil Frits Pil is an Assistant Professor at the Katz Graduate School of Business and a Research Scientist at the Learning Research Development Center at the University of Pittsburgh.
  Lucio Baccaro, International Labour Organization
  Michael Belzer, Wayne State University
  Carola Frege, Rutgers University
  Ann C. Frost, University of Western Ontario
  Larry W. (Chip) Hunter is an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin at Madison in the School of Business, Department of Management and Human Resources. His previous position was Assistant Professor in the Department of Management at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. 
  Saul A. Rubinstein (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, industrial relations and management; M.B.A., Ed.M., Harvard University) focuses his research on the impact of changes in work organization on firms and unions. In particular he has studied intra- and inter-organizational coordination as well as the new forms of firm governance and co-management that have resulted from joint labor-management efforts to transform industrial relations and work systems. He is the associate director of the SMLR Center for Workplace
  Rosemary Batt, Cornell University for the best contribution to research that addresses an industrial relations/employment problem of national significance.
  Peter Berg, Michigan State University for the best contribution to international/comparative labor and employment research.  
  Christopher Erickson, UCLA 
  Kate Bronfenbrenner, Cornell University
  John W. Budd, University of Minnesota
^ top of page  

Labor and Employment Relations Association
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
121 Labor and Employment Relations Bldg., 504 E. Armory Ave., Champaign, IL 61820
Tel: 217-333-0072 | Fax: 217-265-5130 ||